BOOKS BY MARY WOOD

 

My books under my own name of MARY WOOD are published by Pan Macmillan.  My books under my pseudonym of MAGGIE MASON are published by SPHERE. My book by my second pseudonym MOLLY KENT is self published.

 

THE FORGOTTEN DAUGHTER

51sJ2asRvuL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Forgotten Daughter by Mary Wood is the gripping first book in The Girls Who Went To War series.

From a tender age, Flora felt unloved and unwanted by her parents, but she finds safety in the arms of caring nanny Pru. But when Pru is cast out of the family home, under a shadow of secrets, and with a young baby boy of her own to care for, it shatters little Flora. 

But over the years, Flora and Pru meet in secret – unbeknown to Flora’s parents. Pru becomes the mother to flora she never had, and Flora grows into a fine young woman. When Flora signs up to become a nurse with the St John’s ambulance, she begins to shape her life. But the drum of war beats loudly and Flora’s world is turned upside down when she receives a letter asking her to join the Red Cross in Belgium. 

With the fate of the country in the balance, it’s a time for bravery. Flora’s determined to be the strong woman she was destined to be. But with horror, loss and heartache on her horizon – there's a lot for young Flora to learn . . .

Proud Of You

ISBN-978-1-4472-6736-2

Three women's struggle against hardship and heartache during the Second World War

 

Alice, an upper-class Londoner, is recruited into the Special Operations Executive and sent to Paris where she meets Gertrude, an ex-prostitute working for the Resistance Movement. Together they discover that they have a connection to the same man, Ralph D'Olivier, and vow to unravel the mystery of his death.

 

After narrowly escaping capture by the Germans, Alice is lifted out of France and taken to a hospital for wounded officers where she meets Lil, a working-class northern girl, working as a nurse. Though worlds apart, Alice and Lil form a friendship, and Alice discovers Lil is also linked to Ralph D'Olivier.

 

Soon, the war irrevocably changes each of these women and they are thrust into a world of heartache and strife beyond anything they have had to endure before. Can they clear Ralph's name and find a lasting love and happiness for themselves?

To Catch A Dream

ISBN-978-1-4472-6744-7

Can she follow her dreams when she has lost everything? Young Bridie O'Hara is torn away from her native Ireland by her father - a freedom fighter, turned traitor - when he has to flee the wrath of the Fenians. Violated by those who should protect her and betrayed by the dashing gypsy and lover Seamus Finney, she struggles to find her way in Victorian England.

Will Hadler is a kind, hard-working miner, whose love for Bridie knows no bounds. He rescues her from a life on the streets and offers her the chance of happiness, but the demons inside her never give her peace.

When Will takes Bridie to Breckton in Yorkshire, she meets and befriends the young Issy. A strong young woman, she triumphs over adversity, but her quest to save Bridie, and Bridie's daughter Bridget from the consequences of her mother's actions, proves a step too far.

All I Have To Give

ISBN-978-1-4472-6738-6

When all is lost, can she find the strength to start again? It is 1916 and Edith Mellor is one of the few female surgeons in Britain. Compelled to use her skills for the war effort, she travels to the Somme, where she is confronted with the horrors at the front. Yet amongst the bloodshed on the battlefield, there is a ray of light in the form of the working class Albert, a corporal from the East End of London. Despite being worlds apart, Edith and Albert can't deny their attraction to each other. But as the brutality of war reveals itself to Albert, he makes a drastic decision that will change both Edith and Albert's lives forever.

In the north of England, strong-minded Ada is left heartbroken when her only remaining son Jimmy heads off to fight in the war. Desperate to rebuild her shattered life, Ada takes up a position in the munition factory. But life deals her a further blow when she discovers that her mentally unstable sister Beryl is pregnant with her husband Paddy's child. Soon, even the love of the gentle Joe, a supervisor at the factory, can't erase Ada's pain. An encounter with Edith's cousin, Lady Eloise, brings Edith into her life. Together, they realise, they may be able to turn their lives around . . .
The next thrilling saga from the kindle bestselling author of Time Passes Time and Proud of You.

An Unbreakable Bond 

ISBN-13: 978-1447267409

A gripping second novel in The Breckton Novels, from bestselling saga author Mary Wood.
It is 1913 and for best friends Megan and Hattie, born at the turn of the century and brought up in a convent orphanage in Leeds, the time has come to make their way in the world. Megan is to become an apprentice seamstress and Hattie is to work as a scullery maid at Lord Marley's country residence.
Once separated, Megan begins to excel at dress-making, but Hattie is less fortunate. After a devastating encounter with Lord Marley, she is forced to earn a living working the streets, where she uncovers horrors greater than any she could have imagined.
As the two grow up, both Megan and Hattie's paths are beset with danger at every turn, with the heinous Lord Marley never far away. Can their unbreakable bond carry them through their suffering and allow them to make way for true love that may be just around the corner?

IN THEIR MOTHER'S FOOTSTEP

Two Girls

One horrendous war

The chance to unite a family

 

Edith and Ada run Jimmy's Hope House where they care for unmarried mothers, and where Edith, a doctor, offers free medical help to the poor of London's East End.

 

Both are struggling to overcome trauma from their past. For Edith there is the constant ache and yearning for her twin girls Elka and Ania, from whom she was separated in 1918.

For Ada there is the threat of her sister returning . . . 

 

As the Nazis strengthen their grip on Poland, the sisters are forced to make a difficult decision: travel to England to find their birth mother or stay and fight against an increasingly desperate regime? 

 

In times of war, no choices are ever easy to make. But making the right choice could keep you alive . . .

TOMORROW BRINGS SORROW

You can’t choose your family

Megan and her husband Jack have finally found stability in their lives. But the threat of Megan’s troubled son Billy is never far from their minds. Billy’s release from the local asylum is imminent and it should be a time for celebration. Sadly, Megan and Jack know all too well what Billy is capable of . . .

Can you choose who you love?

Sarah and Billy were inseparable as children, before Billy committed a devastating crime. While Billy has been shut away from the world, he has fixated on one thing: Sarah. Sarah knows there’s only one way she can keep her family safe and it means forsaking true love.

Sometimes love is dangerous

Twins Theresa and Terrence Crompton are used to getting their own way. But with the threat of war looming, the tides of fortune are turning. Forces are at work to unearth a secret that will shake the very roots of the tight-knit community . . .

Will Sarah have a chance at a future, and what will become of Jack and Megan? One thing’s for sure: revenge will be sweet.

Time Passes Time

ISBN-978-1-4472-6748-5

TIME PASSES TIME: THERESA'S WAR. It is 1941, and the world is at war. Young Theresa Compton is left devastated after giving up her illegitimate child and joins the Special Operations Executive, an organisation of undercover agents working behind enemy lines. Her mission is to assist a Resistance group run by the handsome Pierre Reuben and it is not long before they fall in love. Soon Theresa becomes pregnant but circumstances tear Pierre and the child from Theresa.

In London, 1963, an older Theresa is haunted by her experiences during the war. In her damaged mind, the past tangles with the present and Theresa soon feels she has to make a terrifying decision. Her long-lost children are seeking answers. Will Theresa be reunited with them, before it's too late?

A thrilling and emotive saga by top ten Kindle bestselling ebook author of The Breckton Trilogy, Mary Wood. Time Passes Time is perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson, Nadine Dorries and Lily Baxter.

BRIGHTER DAYS AHEAD

Brighter Days Ahead is a moving story set against the backdrop of the Second World War, from Mary Wood, the author of In Their Mother’s Footsteps.

War pulled them apart, but can it bring them back together?

Molly lives with her repugnant father, who has betrayed her many times. From a young age, living on the streets of London’s East End, she has seen the harsh realities of life . . .

 

When she’s kidnapped by a gang and forced into their underworld, her future seems bleak.

Flo spent her early years in an orphanage, and is about to turn her hand to teacher training. When a kindly teacher at her school approaches her about a job at Bletchley Park, it could be everything she never knew she wanted.

Will the girls' friendship be enough to weather the hard times ahead?

THE STREET ORPHANS

Born with a club foot in a remote village in the Pennines, Ruth is feared and ridiculed by her superstitious neighbours who see her affliction as a sign of witchcraft. When her father is killed in an accident and her family evicted from their cottage, she hopes to leave her old life behind, to start afresh in the Blackburn cotton mills. But tragedy strikes once again, setting in motion a chain of events that will unravel her family’s lives.

Their fate is in the hands of the Earl of Harrogate, and his betrothed, Lady Katrina. But more sinister is the scheming Marcia, Lady Katrina’s jealous sister. Impossible dreams beset Ruth from the moment she meets the Earl. Dreams that lead her to hope that he will save her from the terrible fate that awaits those accused of witchcraft. Dreams that one day her destiny and the Earl’s will be entwined.

The Street Orphans is an emotional story set in 1850s Lancashire, from Mary Wood, the author of In Their Mother’s Footsteps and Brighter Days Ahead.

THIS PAGE IS A WORK IN PROGRESS - MANY BOOKS TO ADD AND TO GET ALL INTO ORDER OF SERIES - PLEASE ENJOY WHAT IS HERE SO FAR